Old

Something that makes me feel old is when I see somebody with wrinkles and / or jowls and I can remember them when they looked youthful. (Indeed, in the case of bald Prince William, I can remember him when he was a baby.)

Another thing that makes me feel old is the recent 25th anniversary of The Wonder Stuff’s gig at Walsall FC’s Bescot Stadium (which took place on 22nd June 1991). TWS are one of my favourite musical acts, and I remember being gutted that I couldn’t go to their Bescot gig – because I had an obligation to go to a dinner dance which just so happened to be on the same night. By then I’d almost worn out my tapes of the first two Wonder Stuff albums (I now have both these albums on remastered CD). I did eventually see the Bescot gig, though, as highlights of it were featured in the documentary The Wonder Stuff – Welcome To The Cheap Seats. (If you haven’t seen the Welcome To The Cheap Seats doco, I strongly recommend it – I believe it’s currently available on DVD). At that time I had a crush on Mat Cheslin from Ned’s Atomic Dustbin  – the beauty with brunette dreads in this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yPCQ_D7GTgU  (this Neds video was directed by Simon Smith, who also directed the aforementioned Wonder Stuff doco)  – and I would scour Vox, Select, Sounds ( I bought the last-ever issue of Sounds with The Wonder Stuff on the cover, and one of the last issues of Sounds had Neds on the cover with Mat looking stunning), Melody Maker and the NME for pictures of Mat, with the same zeal as the jurors’ waiting area was scoured for empty sudoku grids during the downtime when I did jury service. I stopped buying the NME regularly when it turned into a Tony Blair fanzine – I last bought it when John Peel died – and I haven’t seen a copy of it since it went free. When I have moments to myself, I lip-sinc (badly) to songs by Ned’s Atomic Dustbin and The Wonder Stuff.

About cometorachel

I am a stand-up comedian and writer who has had hemiplegia, a rare-ish form of cerebral palsy which affects one side of the body (in my case the right) since birth. I also have curvature of the spine. I speak German, Spanish and Italian just about fluently, French badly, and am currently learning Portuguese. I have been a vegetarian for many years. I am on Facebook at www.facebook.com/rachel.collinslister and Twitter at www.twitter.com/rcollinslister
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Life, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

