Update on previous posts

The subtitles on my television haven’t disappeared or frozen for ages – presumably, as I am aware that a lot of people have expressed concern about disappearing / freezing subtitles, they must have done work on the transmitter. Because of this, after watching a recent 1983 TOTP on BBC4 I now finally know all the lyrics to Ryan Paris’ Dolce Vita (I’m not ashamed to admit I love that song).

I have been alerted to the fact that in a recent editorial the Daily Fail referred to itself as “peace-loving”. That’s “peace-loving” in the same way as Tony Blair is. Some of the vox pops I’ve seen on TV during the election campaign – with “lifelong Labour voters” who think the party have suddenly become ruled by a “metropolitan elite” since Jeremy Corbyn became leader – have shown that other people seem to share my late, Fail-reading grandmother’s bizarre belief that Tony Blair is a left-wing radical. There have also been some women interviewed in these vox pops saying that they intend to vote Tory because Theresa May is a woman. I’m a woman and I’m certainly not voting Tory on June 8th. I was dismayed (no pun intended) when Kate Bush was quoted a few months ago as praising Theresa May for being a woman, and I still remember when the Spice Girls proclaimed that Margaret Thatcher was the first Spice Girl (Factory-Closing Spice?).

Another thing that makes me feel old is that the new president of France is younger than me. I don’t know that much about Emmanuel Macron or his politics, but I’m just glad that the Le Pen dynasty didn’t win the French election. I expect the Orange ManBaby is spitting feathers about Marine Le Pen not being French president today, but the Donald still has Theresa the Appeaser.

About cometorachel

I am a stand-up comedian and writer who has had hemiplegia, a rare-ish form of cerebral palsy which affects one side of the body (in my case the right) since birth. I also have curvature of the spine. I speak German, Spanish and Italian just about fluently, French badly, and am currently learning Portuguese. I have been a vegetarian for many years. I am on Facebook at www.facebook.com/rachel.collinslister and Twitter at www.twitter.com/rcollinslister
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Music, News and politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

